The Lake Chad Basin Commission

Mission to save Lake Chad

LCBC's Executive Secretary Engr Sanusi Imran Abdullahi and UN General Secretary Representative for West Africa during a mission to save Lake Chad

Fishermen on the Lake Chad

For a long time, the Lake Chad has been a paradise for fishermen, who caught more than a hundred species of fish.

Young shepherd returning from the pastures around the lake

The various successive droughts experienced by this region, have attracted a lot of people including farmers, for whom this green paradise is still an open pantry.

Young drawing water from Lake Chad for domestic needs

The Lake Chad is the alpha and omega for nearly 50 million people, who depend on it for their survival.

Lake Chad, Farming System

The progressive drying of the basin has turned the majority of fishermen to farmers (Image ©FAO/Marizo Marzot).

Image satellite de l’état actuel du lac Tchad

In fifty years, its area, which was about 25.000 square kilometers in the beginning of the 60s, has been virtually divided by ten!


The Lake Chad Basin Commission

The Lake Chad Basin Commission (LCBC) was established on 22nd of May 1964 by the four countries that border Lake Chad: Cameroon, Niger, Nigeria and Chad. The Republic of Central Africa joined the organization in 1996, Libya was admitted in 2008. Observer status is held by Sudan admitted, Egypt, the Republic of Congo and the Democratic Republic of Congo. N’Djaména, Capital of Chad hosts the Headquarters of the Commission.

The mandate of the Commission is to sustainably and equitably manage the Lake Chad and other shared water resources of the Lake Chad Basin, to preserve the ecosystems of the Lake Chad Conventional Basin, to promote regional integration, peace and security across the Basin.The LCBC is a basin organization, member of both the African Network of Basin Organizations (ANBO) and the International Network of Basin Organizations (INBO). The Commission if funded by contributions of Member State, but there is reflection for an autonomous financing of the Organization.